top of page

Eddie's compassionate and competitive spirit carved a special niche for him in the professional sports arena, particularly the NFL where he is only the second NFL running back to rush for 10,000 yards while never missing a start, joining Jim Brown. Only Walter Payton (170) has started more consecutive regular-season games than George’s 128. In addition to the Heisman Trophy, George won several NFL Rookie of the Year awards in 1996, and was the Tennessee Titans’ starting tailback until 2003. Throughout his tenure as one of the NFL’s premier running backs, Eddie not only possessed an explosive combination of speed, power and toughness, but was the epitome of durability. Eddie’s punishing north-and-south running style won him the 1997 AP’s “Offensive Rookie of the Year” honors as well as four consecutive trips to the Pro Bowl from 1998-2001. Drafted in the first round by the Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans, he owns virtually every franchise rushing record. Eddie led the AFC Champion Titans to Super Bowl XXXIV in 2000.




  • 1995 Heisman Memorial Trophy

  • 1995 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

  • 1995 Consensus All-America

  • 1995 Doak Walker Award

  • 1995 Jim Brown Award

  • 1995 Maxwell Award

  • 1995 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award

  • Ohio State Buckeyes #27 retired

  • 2011 Inducted into the College Hall of Fame


The National Football League (NFL) – 9 Seasons

  •  1st Round, 14th Overall pick of the 1996 NFL Draft by the Houston Oilers (now the Tennessee Titans)

  • 1996 NFL AP Offensive Rookie of the Year

  • 4-time PRO BOWL – 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000

  • 10,000 Rushing Yards Club – 10,441

  • 2013 Inducted into Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame

bottom of page